top of page

Scholar Spotlight: Rachel Choi

Meet 🤝 Rachel Choi, PracticePro Law School Mastery Scholar – UC Hastings College of the Law, Class of 2023.

Amanda Jones

Question: What inspired you to pursue a legal career?

Rachel: I worked as an English Co-Teacher with Peace Corps Thailand, where I realized my love for teaching didn't translate into loving the job of a teacher. A major issue I had with teaching in a classroom was the utilitarian approach that neglects students; students who didn't fit the right mold were left behind. I came to law school wanting to become an active and effective advocate for equality.


Question: What’s your favorite book, and why?

Rachel: I have too many, but if I had to choose one it would be Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Being a queer, first generation Korean-American woman who had struggles with her mental health, I’ve fought very hard to retain the sense of wonder and imagination I had when I was younger. This is the book that offered me an escape during my darkest hours.

Question: What practice area(s) are you interested in?

Rachel: I'm learning and open to all opportunities right now.

bottom of page