top of page

Scholar Spotlight: Desmond Sims

Meet 🤝 Desmond Sims, PracticePro Diversity Scholar – Tulane School of Law, Class of 2023.

Amanda Jones

Question: Where are you working this summer?

Desmond: I spent the first half of the summer at Adams and Reese LLP in New Orleans and will spend the second half at Zelle LLP in Washington D.C.


Question: What practice area(s) are you interested in?

Desmond: White Collar Crime, Antitrust Law, Education, and Complex Litigation


Question: Do you have any prior work experience?

Desmond: I have interned at Exxon Mobil and at Johnson & Johnson, Attorneys at Law working with attorneys and lobbyists during the Texas 86th legislative session.


Question: What inspired you to pursue a legal career?

Desmond: Coming into undergrad, I thought I wanted to pursue a degree in finance and work in the tech field. After taking Calculus and Economics, I was no longer sure if this was the best fit for me so I signed up for a mentorship program and met my mentor Tricia Jackson, then a current 3L at Texas Law. Tricia allowed me to shadow her in the classroom, work, and at social events. Watching Tricia in action is what inspired me to attend law school!


Representation of Black lawyers plays a significant role in the matriculation of Black people in the legal field. Prior to meeting Tricia, I had not even considered going to law school, but after seeing someone who looked like me do it, I knew I could!


Question: What do you do for fun?

Desmond: I love to travel! I have been to several different countries, and I enjoy immersing myself in the culture of the people I am around. Additionally, I love to participate in adventurous activities such as rock climbing, scuba diving, and jet skiing.


Question: What’s next on your bucket list?

Desmond: To ride in a hot air balloon or skydive, whichever presents itself first!

bottom of page