top of page

Diversity Scholar Spotlight - Q&A with Ernan Kiselica

Ernan Kiselica

A rising 3L at Berkeley Law, Ernan Kiselica serves as an executive editor on the California Law Review and is a mentor with the First-Generation Professionals group. Ernan spent this summer with the litigation group at Skadden in Palo Alto and will serve as a law clerk on the U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona upon graduation.

He is a first-generation American who graduated summa cum laude from Arizona State University with a B.S. in Justice Studies and earned a Master of Advanced International Studies from the Diplomatic Academy of Vienna, Austria. Ernan came to the U.S. as a refugee from Bosnia when he was in third grade and says that the challenges he faced as a result instilled in him a high level of grit that he brings to everything he does. He plans to make pro-bono work a priority in his legal career, and to continue cultivating his vegetable garden, which is his go-to stress reliever.

PracticePro

Tell us about any leadership positions, student journals/organizations, or projects you're involved with in law school or in the community.

Ernan

I am an Executive Editor on the California Law Review and mentor with the First Generation Professionals program.

PracticePro

What did you do (where did you work or intern) last summer?

Ernan

My 1L I was at Perkins Coie in Phoenix, Arizona.

PracticePro

Where do you to see yourself professionally in 5 or 10 years from now?

Ernan

I hope to continue to sharpen my advocacy skills so that I can best serve my clients. Although I am not sure where I will be, I will devote a large part of my practice to pro bono and community service.

PracticePro

Where are you working this summer (Summer 2018)?

Ernan

I am spending my summer with the litigation group at Skadden in Palo Alto.

PracticePro

What do you do for fun? Tell us one fun or interesting non-law school related thing about yourself.

Ernan

I am an amateur gardener with my fiancee. Some of my favorite vegetables we grow are cucumbers, kale, zucchini, tomatoes, and banana peppers. We started gardening when I started law school and it has become a go-to respite from the stresses of law school.

PracticePro

Tell us about a struggle or challenge you faced growing up, how you overcame it, and how it shaped who you are today.

Ernan

I came to the U.S. as a refugee from Bosnia in 1995. Because of the war, I had missed first and second grade, and started third grade without knowing a word of English. Although these early years were difficult, it instilled in me a high level of grit that I bring into everything I do today.

PracticePro

What is one thing you wish you had known before law school? Do you have any advice or book recommendations to incoming 1Ls to help them succeed or better handle the rigors of law school?

Ernan

My biggest piece of advice for incoming 1Ls is to listen to advice from whoever/wherever you get it, but not to put too much emphasis on anything. You will very quickly figure out how law school works and it will work out just fine. Also have something, whether it is a hobby or some physical activity, that you can rely on to get your mind off law school.

bottom of page